How Ripe Can Sloe and Damsons Be Used

Post your recipes and tips for damson gin here

Moderators: SloeHoHo, Blackthorn

seascape

How Ripe Can Sloe and Damsons Be Used

Post by seascape » 25 Oct 2006, 13:10

Hi

This is my first attempt at sloe gin just a three of questions

How ripe can sloe`s and damson`s be? I have loads of both close to my house but fear they may be to soft. I tried to pick the ripe ones that were not to soft thinking they were the best. Some articles I have read say they should only be picked after the first frost. By this time surley they would be off.

I was told by some one only to use the cheapest of gin. When I looked at these the % proof was 35 but the better names were 40. (I finally used Gordons) Is it OK to use ceap or is it rubbish in rubbish out?

You talk of leaving the sloe gin for over 12 months to mature. Is there a sloe bank to deposit the bottles? or are time lock caps available to stop the early opening of bottles. Mine are only 5 days old but allready look tempting as the colour darkens.

p.s. I worked in India for 2 years Gilbeys Gin there was about £3 per litre should have smuggled lots over
Fishing is not a hoby it ia a way of life

deadsloeandstop

Re: How Ripe Can Sloe and Damsons Be Used

Post by deadsloeandstop » 27 Oct 2006, 15:45

seascape wrote: (1) How ripe can sloe`s and damson`s be? I have loads of both close to my house but fear they may be to soft. I tried to pick the ripe ones that were not to soft thinking they were the best. Some articles I have read say they should only be picked after the first frost. By this time surley they would be off.

(2) I was told by some one only to use the cheapest of gin. When I looked at these the % proof was 35 but the better names were 40. (I finally used Gordons) Is it OK to use ceap or is it rubbish in rubbish out?